but what’s in it for me?

Previous Sememsters

Be Honest: Do You Have a Social Media Strategy.  In short, no.  I do not.  Using this class to help identify my ideal platforms and discover my social media voice will hopefully help create that strategy.  As a retail business, I tend to gravitate towards social media platforms that focus on image.  I post images of new arrivals frequently on Facebook and Instagram.  Customers need to see something to connect with it and want it.

Image

The Hidden Benefits of Social Media Marketing are also perks of an active social media presence.  It ties you to your followers with a sense of community (“Hey, we all wear underwear!”) and it also ties you TO the community.  My charitable outreach increases each year as my presence on social media grows.  I receive more requests for charitable donations, and therefore give more.  It also helps to be reminded of “the lurkers”.  While not every fan or follower is “liking” or commenting on every post, it does not mean that they are not seeing/enjoying it.   Customers come in and reference something they saw on our Facebook or Instagram, yet they left no feed back on the page.  In the 10 Laws of Social Media Marketing, the Law of Compounding is highlighted.  If each “like”, “share”, or comment is shared with the liker’s friends, how do we engage so that they engage back? This ties in both the acknowledgement and reciprocity.   I am not a fan of “Click Like if you…” – but those likes drive more viewers to your pages.  How do you get the likes without the gimmick?

2013: The Year of Social HR really hit home for two reasons:  personal branding and gamification.  I feel that my boutique IS my brand.  However, this article opened my eyes that my personal brand can enhance the brand of The Pink Petticoat.  My credentials, training, and knowledge of product brands me as a “lingerie expert”.  Marketing myself, and my trained staff, as so only increases the validity of The Pink Petticoat’s brand.  As far as gamification, I never embraced it; I have been against it.  For a luxury retailer, doing something like badges, or a rewards system, seems to diminish the brand I created.  I now realize that gamification does not have to work on a discount system.  Frequent customers can be rewarded with invitations to exclusive parties, trunk shows, and fashion shows.  Does taking the discount based reward still compel people to be return shoppers?  Is it still gamification if it is valued as exclusive?

Recruiters using social media is something I embrace.  I require employees to accept my Facebook friend request.  This makes them more accountable for how they present themselves as employees/representatives of the store.  However, is this overkill? An invasion of privacy?  I think not.  For a lingerie store, it is very important to keep a pristine level of professionalism.

Creating a blog is something I hope will keep my brand human, and engage in storytelling.  A lot of things happen at the lingerie store that are certainly story worthy.  Engaging my followers with some of the daily goings on here, I hope will help us connect on a human level.

I also hope to embrace listening on social media.  These platforms are a way for my customers to connect directly, giving me consumer feedback. Maker’s Mark had the right idea when they told us as consumers “you spoke, we listened”.  I hope to use social media to hear what my customers are saying as well.

6 thoughts on “but what’s in it for me?

  1. Hi Lesley! I see where you are coming from with having your employees accept your friend request. If you were operating a business with multiple locations, maybe, but your business is still growing and it is just that — YOUR business. It is not as if you are trying to be Big Brother and control what your employees do, but you are simply trying to ensure that they as employees represent your business in a positive light as it grows.

    I agree with you that each and every customer doesn’t need to “LIKE” every single thing you put out there. Just seeing your product keeps it in their subconscious. Each time Sweet Theory, a local bakery, posts a picture of their goodies, it makes me think, “Man, I’ve got to get back there soon!”

    1. Thanks, Amanda. It’s good to know I am not being a completely overbearing boss. Like you said, I my intention is not to “Big Brother” them, I just want accountability for how they represent my business.
      I also wonder if because the product I carry is so personal and “intimate”, that people are reluctant to public “like” images of lingerie.

  2. Hi Lesley,

    First, I want to say congratulations on having your own business, that is really fantastic! I think that it is a great idea to have your employees reach out to you and friend you. It not only means that they should be accountable, but it also means that they know you can see what they are posting. Of course I would like to think that all of your employees are responsible and wouldn’t call out of work for no reason, but if someone does call out and posts a picture of themselves at an amusement park, at least you can determine what the right actions are for your business. What made me comment was actually what you posted in your comment to Amanda. I work for a divorce lawyer and handle all of her social media, and I know for a fact that happily married people don’t “like” her information or share it simply because they don’t want people to get the wrong idea. The truth is, some people may be reluctant, but when you offer things like trunk shows or girls nights I think that it really will help people to get over their reluctance. Good luck with your business.

    1. Yes! I can completely see where a divorce lawyer isn’t getting too many “likes” on certain posts! Like I said on Amanda’s blog, with so many friends on Facebook, I can understand why people are hesitant to publicly “like” something that is so personal and, well, intimate!
      As for my employees, I like to think that in the hiring process, I weed out those who would potentially misrepresent by business. I have only ever had one issue, and it was thanks to social media that I was able to deal with it quickly and professionally.
      And that you so much for the kind words about my business!

  3. Lesley,
    I’m glad that you mentioned the “lurkers” because I feel they are a major portion of the population on social media and cannot be ignored. You bring up an interesting question though after discussing them about how to get likes without being gimmicky? For your business in particular, I would imagine being “gimmicky” is definitely something you would want to avoid; making your question all the more prevalent. My initial thoughts were maybe to come up with some creative way to photograph the new articles that come in to the store, but how do you do that without being gimmicky…? What about just putting something like “what do you think?” at the end of a description of a new picture? Or maybe letting the customers feel like they are taking part in the “ordering” process on your end. Show a picture of something you are thinking about stocking or have just recently purchased and ask your customers, “What do you think? Should I stock this?” That empowerment may compel clients to comment on pieces and create interest by making them feel like the expert like we talked about in the lecture. Anyway, good luck this term!

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Jake! I love the idea of engaging my customers with pictures of upcoming styles and asking for their opinions. I usually post some “teasers” when I am on a buying trip, but only after I have already decided what to purchase. I think that next time I will do a “yes or no” post. Or even just a post like, “what are you looking for to make Valentine’s Day special”, or something. Great ideas! I really appreciate it!
      And good luck to you this semester as well!

Leave a Reply

