More About Me

MMC6936

Hi all, I’m Lesley Geyer and this is my third semester in the Masters of Communication – Social Media program at the University of Florida.

I’m am a native to Tampa, Florida – born and raised. I graduated from the University of Florida in 2005 with my bachelor of arts in Religious Studies and Business. After college, I moved back to Tampa and worked in the corporate world for a few years before opening my own business in 2008. The Pink Petticoat is an internationally recognized luxury lingerie boutique, located in South Tampa. Last year, I was honored to be named a finalist in Intima Magazine’s Best of Shop Awards, an awards ceremony recognizing the best independently owned and operated lingerie and swim boutiques in the world.  I recently received a nomination for this year, and am excited to attend again (and hopefully win)!  Outside of day to day shop operations and buying duties, I also run The Pink Petticoat’s social media accounts.  Since starting this program, I also manage the social media accounts for 3 other businesses and act as a consultant for 2 others.  

Before starting this program, I felt pretty social media savvy.  However, I continue to learn new ways to promote my personal and professional brand and drive traffic and sales in my store.  My favorite part of social media is communicating directly with my customers, as I have recently taken a pretty large step back in my hours present at the store.  I look forward to continuing to learn and develop as a social media and business professional!

In my (limited) free time, I love to travel, spend time on the water (boating, fishing, SCUBA, anything!), and with our 2 dogs, Marla (a Boston Terrier) and Taylor (a Black Labrador).  

Image

Leave a Reply

