Terms & Conditions

MMC6936

Admittedly, I almost never read the fine print or terms and conditions on basically everything. The only exception to this is when I make online purchases – I pour over the return policy to make sure that I will not be stuck with something that doesn’t work, or worse, doesn’t fit.

I don’t think that I am in the minority. Everyday, I watch people purchase items at my boutique and sign their receipt without reading the fine print. After one too many customers who are left frustrated when they try to exchange or return something that is final sale, I have now taken to verbally reciting my return policy to each customer before I swipe their credit card. Often, they reconsider the purchase when told the terms.

Honestly, after reading the official terms and conditions of Facebook, I wish someone had read this out loud to me before I signed on as a user as well. In response, I have taken Professor Kings challenge to re-write Facebook’s terms and conditions to be a little more user friendly. NOTE: I deleted sections that went largely unchanged and bolded additions, rewordings, and struck through eliminations. As I am in the process of re-negotiating my business lease, I may have been a little heavy handed on the strike through. My over all goals were for Facebook to provide some guarantee and safety and take responsibility for monitoring activity and content.

  • You maintain rights and ownership to your IP – even if you have deleted the content and other users have not!
  • When you publish content or information using the Public setting, it means that you are allowing everyone that you are Facebook friends with, but NOT people off of Facebook, to see, and to associate it with you (i.e., your name and profile picture).
  • We will not allow you, or anyone else to do any of the following:
  • Post-unauthorized commercial communications (such as spam) on Facebook or you will be kicked off.
  • develop or operate a third-party application containing alcohol-related, dating or other mature content (including advertisements) without appropriate age-based restrictions.
  • If you select a username or similar identifier for your account or Page, we reserve the right to remove or reclaim it if we believe it is appropriate (such as when a trademark owner complains about a username that does not closely relate to a user’s actual name).
 

We will not allow you, or anyone else to post anyone else’s personal information.

You give us permission to use your name, profile picture, content, and information in connection with commercial, sponsored, or related content (such as a brand you like) served or enhanced by us. This means, for example, that you permit a business or other entity to pay us to display your name and/or profile picture with your content or information, without any compensation to you. If you have selected a specific audience for your content or information, we will respect your choice when we use it.

WE WILL KEEP FACEBOOK UP, BUG-FREE, AND SAFE.  WE DO NOT GUARANTEE THAT FACEBOOK WILL ALWAYS BE SAFE, SECURE OR ERROR-FREE OR THAT FACEBOOK WILL ALWAYS FUNCTION WITHOUT DISRUPTIONS, DELAYS OR IMPERFECTIONS.

Leave a Reply

