Moderation

MMC6936

Moderation is tricky business:  finding the right balance of how to address our audience in the best way, identifying who they are, and keeping our ethical approach in tact, no matter what the situation.  Tailoring our approach to each situation requires a lot of thought and insight to the specific user and situation.  It can be complicated.

I previous worked at a Catholic church as the Director of Religious Education and Youth Ministry.  At this point in time, the church was under high scrutiny regarding creating safe environments for children.  Because of this, and understandably so, contact and interaction with the youth was highly regulated.  Staff and volunteer were required to attend special training, meet specific guidelines, and even undergo FBI background checks.  This was no joke, and as the DRE, it was part of my job to enforce and regulate these standards.  However, this also effected how I, as the acting youth minister, could also interact with my students.  There was no moderation, there was rigidity.  As someone who grew up very active in youth groups and church activities, it was difficult for me to see how the regulations took away from the fellowship in the youth group.  But as the DRE, I completely understood the logic and needs behind it.

I think of this time in my career often when engaging on social media now.  Too many rules and regulations, policies and canned responses do not lend to an engaging and constant stream of trustworthy conversation.  However, moderation is important to keep things appropriate and on track (especially in my new career in lingerie… quite the jump, I know).  Also, certain platforms, especially Twitter, really force you to keep the engagement to a minimum because of the character restrictions.

From a marketing standpoint, I do think that exercising moderation is key.  No one wants to be bombarded or annoyed with constant posts and “sell, sell, sell” tactics.  I sometimes post when angry (bad) but I also try to acknowledge and engage with amusing posts or ones that drive a bigger conversation (good).  I think focusing my posts will be an exercise in moderation for me, but an exercise that will definitely be worthwhile.

Do you find it more difficult to moderate your original posts or your responses?

Has there ever been a post you completely ignored, and why?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Moderation

Leave a Reply

